Emily Waggoner

Emily W senior Pic

Name: Emily Waggoner

Major: Early Childhood and Special Education, urban track

Minor: Educational Psychology

Ambassador Role (Current/Past): General Board

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2015

What advice would you give to fellow Ambassadors?

Don’t check out. There will times in your next few years at school that are overwhelming. Classes will ask a lot of you, professors will not be nearly as helpful as you want, clubs are going to take up all of your free time that you should be doing homework and really all you want to be is sitting at home binge watching episodes of Shameless. It’s all going to hit you and you’ll feel like you’re drowning for a minute (or a month). But my advice is don’t check out. Stay active within Ambass, and stay engaged in your classes. Put the extra effort in to make sure you have protein in your diet so you’re not falling asleep. And those times when you are about to fall off the edge, grab a friend, facetime a friend, call your mom, and go for a walk. Get outside even if it’s by yourself and remind you that there is a whole world you want to be a part of and that’s why you’re doing this whole college thing in the first place. Take it from me, it’s so much easier to push through when you’re surrounded by people who motivate and push you and when you take a second to remind you why you’re pushing yourself. Just don’t check out. Don’t let opportunities pass you by or give up because it’s hard. Don’t lose touch with the friends who could potentially carry and drag you through these times. It’s hard enough already, don’t do it alone.

Besides Ambassadors, what organizations are you involved in?

Naeyc, CEC, Kappa Delta Pi, IUP Student Cooperative Association Exec. Board, Best Buddies, Student-PSEA

If you were on American Idol, what song would you sing and why?

I like to move it. Because essentially I would get a kazoo solo and I don’t think I’ve ever wanted something off my bucket list more.

What is your favorite Ambassador memory?  

My very first spring retreat, we were at an outdoor camp during team building activities. One of the activities was trying to get through a (fictitious) mine field with the help of our team members, who couldn’t actually talk or help you. I wasn’t last to go or anything, but I vaguely remember there being pressure if I stepped on a mine. When I did (because of course I did), I remember a fellow ambassador (name being removed for face-saving reasons) squealed like a stepped-on pig at a decibel that I’m not sure my brain processed fully. It was the first time I really laughed with fellow ambassadors, and was ultimately the feeling I have maintained and tried to grow with ambassadors ever since.

What cereal best describes you as a person?

Crunch Berries!

What are your plans after graduation?

To pursue a career in urban school districts as an upper elementary school teacher with the intent on going back to school to earn my master’s in school psychology.

What will you take away from Ambassadors?

As corny as it sounds, I’ll take away the friendships I made here. The relationships with all of these crazy passionate people who have changed me for the better. Without Ambass, I don’t think I would have been as proud of myself and my collegiate accomplishments as I am, nor do I think I would be so ready to tackle the chaos that is impending graduation.

One thought on “Emily Waggoner

Leave a Reply

