Alyssa Schaard Senior Interview

Alyssa Schaard Senior Pic

Name: Alyssa Schaard

Major: Accounting/ Pre-Law Interdisciplinary minor

Ambassador Role (Current/Past): Student Engagement Committee/ Development Committee

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2015

What advice would you give to fellow Ambassadors?

My advice to fellow Ambassadors is to get involved as much as you can at IUP and take advantage of every opportunity that you get. You never know where one networking event or luncheon will lead you to! My 4 years at IUP has flown by and it will for you too, so make the most of your time here. The more you put yourself out there, the more friends and memories you will make along the way!

Besides Ambassadors, what organizations are you involved in?

College of Business Student Advisory Council (COBSAC), Student Accounting Association (SAA)

If you were on American Idol, what song would you sing and why?

It’s My Life by Bon Jovi because I can really relate to the lyrics. The message in the song is what I try to live by. I try to make the most of every day and do things that will make me happy. Life is too short to worry about the opinions of others. I would also pick it because the song is very catchy and I love Bon Jovi!

What is your favorite Ambassador memory?

My favorite memory from Ambassadors was my first spring retreat. I got to know all the ambassador members and made a lot great friendships.

What cereal best describes you as a person?

Lucky Charms

What are your plans after graduation?

This summer I will be interning in the Tax department at Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC). Starting in August, I will be attending Temple’s Master of Accountancy program for one year and taking the CPA exam.

What will you take away from Ambassadors?

I have learned a lot through my time in Ambassadors. I learned the importance of networking and getting involved in different events held on campus. I made so many great friendships with people I would not have normally met, since I am normally just in the business college. Everyone had something unique to bring to the organization and that is what makes Ambassadors so great. I am so happy I joined Ambassadors and met such amazing people!

Leave a Reply

