Matthew O’Hara Senior Interview

Matt O'Hara Senior Pic

Name: Matthew O’Hara

Major: Human Resource Management

Ambassador Role (Current/Past): General Board Member (2014, 2017), Executive Vice President (2015), President (2016)

Joined Ambassadors: 2014

What advice would you give to fellow Ambassadors

I said this all the time as president, but be as involved as possible. Ambassadors has a lot to offer if you’re willing to take the initiative. When I first joined, I was astounded by how involved every member was. They weren’t forced to be; they chose to. Their constant involvement and togetherness created this big family environment where everyone knew each other personally and loved being together. It was incredible how much they were able to accomplish because of their cohesiveness and involvement.

Besides Ambassadors, what organizations are you involved in?

Society for Human Resource Management, Beta Gamma Sigma

If you were on American Idol, what song would you sing and why?

Single Ladies because I don’t have the time or the energy to be in a relationship.

What is your favorite Ambassador memory? 

One of my favorite memories was when I hosted Cliff Watson for Distinguished Alumni Awards. Cliff is a retired Systems Safety Engineer for NASA. He shared some of the most interesting and entertaining stories with me that weekend. He also shared some powerful career and life advice. I won’t forget how incredibly humble and kind he is. When we first met, and finished introducing ourselves, he said “One moment, I brought a gift for you!” He returned from his car and handed me a pen made of wood, which he had handcrafted. Later that weekend, he let me hold his Silver Snoopy Award, a literal silver Snoopy pin that’s award to less than 1% of NASA employees. Silver Snoopys go on one mission to space, pinned to the chest of an astronaut, before they’re awarded. That weekend with Cliff and his wife was one of the most memorable experiences I’ve had with Ambassadors.

What cereal best describes you as a person?

Cap’n Crunch Berries

What are your plans after graduation?

I have no idea… I’ll go wherever life takes me.

What will you take away from Ambassadors?

I’ve learned and grown so much from being an Ambassador, but perhaps the most valued thing I’ll take away are the friendships I’ve built here. I’ve met some of the most incredible people, and found my best friends within this organization.

 

Leave a Reply

