Heather Kwolek Senior Interview

Heather Kwolek Senior Pic

Name: Heather Kwolek

Major: Psychology

Ambassador Role (Current/Past): Member of University Relations, then a member of Student Engagement Committee

Joined Ambassadors: I joined Ambassadors in the Spring of 2014.

What advice would you give to fellow Ambassadors?

This is a great organization. Take advantage of the opportunities provided – meet alumni, develop yourself as a professional, gain skills and leadership experience, make friends, and have fun!

Besides Ambassadors, what organizations are you involved in?

I am a member of Psi Chi, and beyond that I helped found the Tabletop Gaming Club at IUP and have been both President and Vice President of it since its inception.

If you were on American Idol, what song would you sing and why?

I would choose to sing the song “Down” by Thousand Foot Krutch if I were on American Idol. I really like a lot of the lyrics in it, especially those about when people say that you can’t do something, or that plenty of others can do it (and so you’re nothing special), the best response is to use that as further motivation towards your goals – to show them that they were wrong. I like the idea of focusing on your goals and passions and never letting other people bring you down. It’s something I need to remember, much of the time!

What is your favorite Ambassador memory?  

My favorite Ambassador memory actually comes from Spring Retreat the year I joined. I was doing a rope activity where I had to balance on one rope while a partner balanced on another rope, and we could use each other as support. Slowly, though, the ropes moved farther apart. The rest of the group was there to catch you when you fell. As someone who is afraid of heights, and has no sense of balance, this wasn’t my greatest strength. However, the best part was that when I fell, the group actually caught me. This might sound silly, but I’ve been dropped in trust falls before! The fact that I was caught here meant something to me, because it impressed on me that I could actually trust everyone to be there when something went wrong.

What cereal best describes you as a person?

None, because I don’t like cereal! But really, though, I don’t know too many cereals because I don’t eat them. Maybe Cocoa Puffs? Because they’re sweet and chocolaty, and I adore chocolate!

What are your plans after graduation?

I am planning to go to graduate school for school psychology and get at least my Ed.S., although I may continue and get a Ph.D. After that, I want to return to Virginia, hopefully around the Northern Virginia area, and practice as a school psychologist!

What will you take away from Ambassadors?

I am going to take away that the knowledge that a group of people, when dedicated and well-organized, can truly do amazing things. Further, you never truly know what exactly you are capable of until you push yourself – and having a group of capable, dedicated people behind you pushing you is one way to help you find out!

Leave a Reply

