Senior Spotlight: Bec Welker

bec - senior survey.png

Name: Bec Welker

Major: Hospitality Management, Special Events Management Concentration                                                                                                                                        

Ambassador Role: Alumni Engagement Committee

Joined Ambassadors: Sophomore year-Spring 2014

What advice would you give to fellow Ambassadors? Because I’m obsessed with quotes…”If it’s both terrifying and amazing then you should definitely Pursue it” –ERADA College has everything to do with taking risks and going outside of your comfort zone so do the unthinkable!

Besides Ambassadors organizations are you involved in? Hawk Rock

If you were on American Idol what song would you chose to sing and why? “Die A Happy Man” by Thomas Rhett because I love country and I’m such a hopeless romantic!

What is your favorite Ambassador memory? Completing the rope swing challenge with Team Goofy at Spring Retreat 2014. I never laughed so hard in my life! (This was the first time I heard Derek laugh haha)

What cereal best describes you as a person? Reese’s Puffs because I’m obsessed with peanut butter!

What are your plans after graduation? After walking in the May graduation ceremony I will be completing an internship and study abroad program at International College of Management, Sydney (ICMS) in Australia in order to finish my degree. My place of employment after Australia is not yet determined.

What will you take away from Ambassadors with you? Never judge a book by its cover! Personally, I think Ambassadors is a melting pot organization filled with different races, ethnicity, organizations, majors, interests, athletics, and hobbies. This has taught me to embrace new friends and how to do things differently and I couldn’t be happier to leave IUP feeling this way! Another thing I will take away from Ambassadors is networking. Ambassadors has taught me the skills of networking and has also provided me with many successful networking opportunities and for that I am very grateful!

Leave a Reply

