Senior Interviews: Taylor Billman and Katie Caffrey

Taylor Billman

By Derek Hanely

Majors: Operations Management and Human Resources Management   Minor: Economics

Ambassador Role: Development committee member

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2012

What is your favorite thing about Ambassadors?

“My favorite thing about Ambassadors is the sense of family that it provides among some of the most outstanding students on IUP’s campus.”

If you could have any superpower, which would it be?

I would love to be able to teleport because I enjoy traveling.”

What advice would you give to fellow Ambassadors?

“As we start the next chapter of our lives, never lose sight of this chapter of your life and the amazing people that have crossed your path. So, make sure to come back to Ambassador reunions because I want to see all of you again!”

If you could have two celebrities as your parents, who would they be and why?

“Richard Branson and Reba McEntire. They are both very business minded, morally upright, think outside the box, and because I love country music.”

How has Ambassadors impacted your life?

“It has influenced me to become better while instilling a sense of family and stewardship in the university.”

Why did you choose to attend IUP?

“I chose IUP because of its affordability, its reputable business college, the aesthetics of the campus, and the girl-to-guy ratio.”

Besides Ambassadors, what other organizations are you apart of?

“Student Government Association, Phi Delta Theta, Order of Omega, the IUP Sailing Club, and many more.”

What are your plans after graduation?

I plan to work in the construction industry doing project management, asset management, or estimating for a few years until I can start my own business in sustainable building construction. My dream job is to work for a green roof company before, of course, starting my own that produces entirely prefabricated net zero homes and buildings. I also plan to give back to IUP by either beginning an annual dinner or simply helping with opportunities and activities that are asked of me.”

—–

Katie Caffrey

By Erin Wright

Major: Communications                       Minors: Business Administration and Journalism

Ambassador Role: 2013 VP of Development and current Administration committee member

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2012

What is your favorite Ambassador memory?

“Wow, that’s a hard one. There are so many! I’d say that the retreats have been some of my favorite memories. You really get to know the other members and become closer during retreats. I also really enjoyed the Distinguished Alumni/President Driscoll Inauguration weekend last year. It was one of those times when I felt extra proud to go attend IUP and be an IUP Ambassador.

Any advice to new members?

“A lot have people have already said this but get involved with as much as possible. The more you put into it, the more you get out of it. It’s an amazing organization that will give you so many opportunities that you won’t get anywhere else.”

Besides Ambassadors, what else are you involved in at IUP?

“I’m the vice president for IUP’s chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America. I also work on campus in the Admissions Office and Communications Office.”

Which super power would you like to have and why?

“I’d like to apparate like in Harry Potter. It would be fun to go to Disney World whenever I wanted. Also, I hate long car rides so being able to instantly get from one place to another would make things a lot easier.”

If you could only eat one food for the rest of you life, what would it be?

“Anything with chocolate! I have a major sweet tooth.”

What are your plans after graduation?

“After graduation I intend to pursue a career in event planning or public relations in the Pittsburgh area.”

Leave a comment