Senior Interviews: Katie Trenney and Caitlyn Lyons

Katie Trenney

By Alex Hilditch

Major: Journalism

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2012

Ambassador role: 2013 VP of Special Events and current Special Events committee member

What is your favorite Ambassador memory?

“This is a hard one! Probably the spring retreats and the CASE-ASAP conference in New Orleans this summer. It was one of the best weekends ever. I also enjoyed formal last year. After an entire semester of planning, it was really great to see it all come together and everyone have such a great time.”

What is your favorite IUP memory?

“One of the most memorable IUP moments was being at the football PSAC Championship game last year and watching IUP win! There was a lot of IUP community/student support at the game and the atmosphere was great. Other favorite memories include anything with the ambassadors, and every single day living at my house with my six amazing roommates!”

How has Ambassadors impacted your college career?

“Ambassadors has helped me so much throughout college.  It’s taught me a lot about leadership, professionalism and time management.  I’ve made amazing friends through this organization and I’ve also been given numerous opportunities to network with all of IUP’s amazing alumni!”

What was your favorite interview question during recruitment?

“I don’t know if this is my favorite interview question, but this is one I will never forget.  Taylor Sullivan, who I was terrified of during the interview, asked me a question about dealing with someone with a very dominate personality (something along those lines) and I had no idea how to answer.  Instead of just giving them a straight answer, I kind of danced around the question.  When I was done, Taylor looked at me with a straight, serious face and said ‘you didn’t answer the question.’  I’m still shocked that I got into Ambassadors after my awful interview!  I did like the question about what kind of ice cream I am, as well.  I thought it was funny because I said Cotton Candy Explosion and I think only one or two people in the room even knew what it was.”

What are your plans after graduation?

“After graduation, I would like to find a job! Hopefully I’ll either be working in public relations at a non-profit or in the sports industry, preferably in Pittsburgh or Atlanta.”

——–

Caitlin Lyons

By Derek Hanely

Major: Nursing

Ambassador Role: Special Events committee member

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2011

If you could trade places with any Ambassador for a day, who would it be and why?

“I’d trade places with Ambassador Dan for a day so I could actually have some muscle.”

What is your favorite Ambassador memory?

“My favorite Ambassador memory is giving tours with Taylor Sullivan, for obvious reasons.”

Besides Ambassadors, what other organizations are you apart of at IUP?

“Aside from Ambassadors, I’m on the executive board of Alpha Tau Delta and a member of the IUP Women’s Rugby Team.

If you could have a super power what would it be?

“I would like to be able to fly so I wouldn’t have to pay for gas.”

What are your plans after graduation?

“After I graduate, I plan to work in critical care (ED or ICU) for one of the UPMC hospitals.”

Leave a Reply

