Senior Interviews: Tia Kordell and Emily Porter

Tia Kordell

By Erin Wright

Majors: Environmental Biology and Journalism

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2012

Ambassador role: 2013 Vice President of Administration and current member of the Administration committee

What is your favorite thing about Ambassadors?

“It is a quality bunch of kids who care about one another and their university. It is rare to have an organization that everyone gets along with everyone else and I think that also speaks volumes about the members. I am blessed to be surrounded by such good people.”

What will you take away from the Ambassador experience?

“Honestly, IUP Ambassadors has changed my life. I transferred to IUP, which is smack dab in the middle of my small hometown, very bitter about the situation. When I joined Ambassadors, I got involved and grew as a leader, helping others and my university and the same time. I learned it isn’t about where you are, it’s about what you make of it. It’s important to step outside of you comfort zone and contribute to a place and to people who have given us so much.”

If you could pick to celebrities to be your parents, who would it be?

“I would want Meryl Streep as a mom – she seems so funny and eccentric and very wise!  I would want probably someone like Steve Martin as a dad because he’s really funny and doesn’t seem like he would be too strict.  Also, he’s not all that attractive, so I wouldn’t have to worry about my friends hitting on him, unlike if I picked some other male celebrities!

If you could be any animal, which would it be and why?

“If I could be an animal, I think I would be a beaver.  Beavers have the capability of making their homes instead of finding a nice tree or grassy bed (although, they still have to find a place for a dam).  When beavers set up shop, they change the whole ecosystem for the better, usually.  It’s cool to me that a single animal has so much influence on the ecosystem around it.  Also, north American beavers rebounded pretty well after nearly being extinct from hunting and trapping.  I mean, I also think they are pretty cute!”

What are your plans after graduation?

“I hope to get a job for a year then go to graduate school.  I want to work in environmental conservation and save the world – but I’m not exactly sure of the avenue that will take me there at the moment. That’s why I’m taking a year off before graduate school to get my feet wet with a job in conservation.”

Emily Porter

By Taylor Billman

Major: Nursing

Ambassador Role: Finance committee member

Joined Ambassadors: Spring 2011

What was your favorite part of the new member experience?

“Having a larger group of friends in college and the Buddy Olympics.”

If you could trade places with another Ambassador for a day, who would it be?

“Taylor Billman because he runs the world.”

What is your favorite part of Ambassadors?

“Diversity, interest, and talents of the members, yet somehow we still end up being a big family.I would have never met all of these amazing people otherwise.”

What was your favorite Ambassador event?

“My favorite Ambassador event was the Distinguished Alumni Awards.”

Which Ambassador will you miss the most when you graduate?

“Ryan Egan because he was one of my first friends in Ambassadors and he has been a staple in my college career.”

Why did you choose IUP?

“The sidewalks looked nice and organized, the affordability, it was not home, the outstanding nursing program, and the big town-small town feeling.”

Where is your favorite place in Indiana?

“The Hoodle Bug Trail.”

If you could be a superhero, which would you be?

“Cat woman because I’m not allergic to cats”

Where is your dream vacation?

“Ireland because that is where my roots are and the landscape would complement my skin tone.

What is something that people may not know about you?

“I got a parasite in 2012 while I was in Mexico for a mission trip. I still suffer from neurological symptoms to this day.”

Leave a Reply

